Sister Cities of Macao

The Civic and Municipal Affairs Bureau (IACM) was established on January 1st 2002 to replace the former Provisional Municipal Council of Macao and the former Provisional Municipal Council of the Islands. One of its responsibilities is to sign city twinning agreements and to maintain friendly relationship with Macao’s existing sister cities.

According to the stipulations of Article 2 of the Estatutos do Instituto para os Assuntos Cívicos e Municipais (Statutes of the Civic and Municipal Affairs Bureau), IACM is responsible for performing the duty to “implement the established policy of the Macao Special Administrative Region (MSAR) government on the exchange and relations development between Macao and other cities, especially the matters of twinning agreement.”

At present, Macao has established sister city relationship with the following cities: Lisbon, Porto and Coimbra of Portugal (a cooperation agreement was also signed with the Municipal Training and Research Centre of Coimbra), Linköping of Sweden, São Paulo of Brazil, Praia of Cape Verde. Macao has also signed a friendship agreement with Brussels of Belgium and Da Nang of Vietnam, as well as a cultural memorandum of understanding with San Francisco of the United States.